New Traffic Commissioners

Two new traffic commissioners have been appointed by Transport Secretary, Chris Grayling. Colonel Tim Blackmore OBE and Simon Evans will be traffic commissioners for the North East and the North West respectively and will take up their new roles from May 2017. Tim will fill the post vacated by Kevin Rooney, who took over the West of England in October 2016. Simon will replace Beverley Bell when she steps down in Spring 2017.

Tim currently heads the British Forces Post Office and was commissioned into the Royal Corps of Transport in 1992. He is a fellow of the Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport (CILT) and the Chartered Management Institute. Simon is currently a Deputy Traffic Commissioner for the North West of England and Independent Member (Chair) of the Parole Board for England and Wales. He was previously a Fee Paid Judge on the Social Entitlement Chamber and a Lay Member (Chair) of the Nursing and Midwifery Council’s Fitness to Practice Panel.

The Secretary of State has also appointed four new Deputy Traffic Commissioners: Mark Hinchliffe as Deputy Traffic Commissioner for the North East of England, Jayne Salt as Deputy Traffic Commissioner for the North West of England, Laura Thomas as Deputy Traffic Commissioner for the East of England and Hugh Olson in Scotland.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer, these are in place to ensure that you receive the best possible experience when using the Bus & Coach Buyer website.