Finalists announced for UK Bus Awards

Finalists of this year’s UK Bus Awards have been announced.

The independent judging process of the UK Bus Awards has once again included mystery travelling for both driver and operator finalists. Additionally, it featured face-to-face interviews for some of those shortlisted.

“We can’t wait to recognise, reward and inspire the bus industry when we reveal the winners at Troxy, London on 28 November” – Alan Millar, Chair of the UK Bus Awards

Alan Millar, Chair of the UK Bus Awards, said: “This year’s finalists represent the best of the UK’s bus industry. Their dedication to excellence and innovation is truly commendable, and I congratulate each and every one of them on their outstanding achievements. The UK Bus Awards is proud to celebrate their contributions.

“We can’t wait to recognise, reward and inspire the bus industry when we reveal the winners at Troxy, London on 28 November.”

Stagecoach has been shortlisted in this year’s UK Bus Awards more times than any other operator in the country. The company has nominations in 17 of the potential 21 categories at this year’s awards, with a total of 46 individual nominations across these categories.

Transdev also has a number of nominations. In total, the operator is a potential winner in five categories.

The winners of the UK Bus Awards 2023 will be revealed at the Troxy, London, on Tuesday 28 November. Tickets for the event are now available at


The UK Bus Awards 2023 Shortlist


Bus and the Community sponsored by Heathrow

Arriva NE, Go NE, Nexus and Stagecoach NE – Care Experienced Travel

OurBus Bartons

Stagecoach East – Behind the Bus

Stagecoach West – Gloucestershire Nightstop

Tower Transit – LibertyBus

West Yorkshire Bus Alliance – Youth Engagement Programme


Buses for Leisure

Go South Coast – Breezers

Lothian Buses – Royal Highland Show

Reading Buses – London Line 702 & Flightline 703

Stagecoach Cumbria and North Lancashire – Lake District services

Stagecoach Midlands – X46/X47

Transport for Wales – Sherpa’r Wyddfa


Culture Change sponsored by Intuitive Talent Solutions

Arriva East and South Midlands – High Wycombe Depot

Arriva East and South Midlands – Punctuality Sprint

RATP Dev Transit London – Garage Life Programme

Stagecoach – Employee Networks

Stagecoach East – Keep Our People Safe

Stagecoach London – Fatigue

Stagecoach London – Women’s Committee

Stagecoach Services – Creating Connections

Warrington’s Own Buses – Dallam Lane Depot


Engineer of the Year sponsored by IRTE

Andrew Fisher, Stagecoach East

Jason Hodgson, RATP Dev Transit London

Richard Mason, Stagecoach Midlands

Colin Smith, McGill’s

Oliver Thong, Stagecoach London

Neil Wilmin, Uno


Enriching the Customer Experience sponsored by Tracsis

Nominated by Heathrow – Carlone

Lothian Buses – Accessibility

Sanders Coaches – X55

Stagecoach – Going digital

Stagecoach Midlands – Simplifying Tickets

Transdev Blazefield – De-Stressing the Bus

TrawsCymru T1, Transport for Wales


Environmental Innovation sponsored by Cityswift

First Bus Scotland – Electrification of Aberdeen and Scotstoun depots

First York – Electric drivetrain upgrade and solar panels

Liverpool City Region Combined Authority – Hybus

McGill’s Bus Group – Journey to net zero

National Express West Midlands and Zenobe – Electric Transportation as a Service

Stagecoach London – Greener depots

Stagecoach West Scotland – Service 1


Going for Growth sponsored by Intsol

FlixBus UK

Go South Coast – Bluestar

Grant Palmer – Hi

Stagecoach East – 100% Club

Stagecoach Merseyside and South Lancashire – 59

Transdev Blazefield – The 36

Transport for Wales – Sherpa’r Wyddfa


London Bus Garage of the year sponsored by TfL

Barking, Stagecoach London

Croydon, Arriva London

Lea Interchange, Stagecoach London

Sutton, Go-Ahead London

Waterloo, Go-Ahead London

Willesden Junction, Metroline


Luke Rees-Pulley Award for Top London Bus Driver sponsored by the Luke Rees-Pulley Charitable Trust and TfL

Andy Beckers, Stagecoach London

Thomas Brade, Arriva London

Carmen Brigo, RATP Dev Transit London

Karl Diamond, Go-Ahead London

Marina Rudko, RATP Dev Transit London

Suryakant Tank, Metroline

Heidi Williams, RATP Dev Transit London

Christopher Wilson, Go-Ahead London


Manager of the Year

Katie Cringle, Warrington’s Own Buses

Toby France, Arriva South and East Midlands

Joe Gilbey, Stagecoach London

Alan Isherwood, Transdev Blazefield INT

Mark Mageean, Stagecoach Manchester INT

Dawn Murphy, Stagecoach Yorkshire INT

Karishma Patel, Metroline

Sarah Taylor, Lothian Buses


Marketing Campaign of the Year

Cornwall Council – Believe in Bus

First Bus Scotland – Free to Explore

Go North East – YOU are not a bus driver

National Express West Midlands – Encourage modal shift

North East Enhanced Partnership – Get ‘round for a pound

Nottingham City Transport – Student Campaign

Transdev Blazefield – Get Your Freedom – Get Your Free Bus Pass

Stagecoach Group – CAV Forth

Stagecoach West Scotland – Your Ticket to Freedom


Partnership for Excellence: The Peter Huntley Memorial Award sponsored by the Confederation of Passenger Transport

Arriva NE, Go NE, Nexus and Stagecoach NE – 2022 Great North Run

Leicester City Council with Arriva, Centrebus, First Bus, Kinchbus, Roberts Travel and Stagecoach – Leicester Buses Enhanced Partnership

Lothian Buses – Operation Unicorn

Scottish Citylink and Stagecoach with HITRANS – Bikes on Buses

Stagecoach East Scotland and the University of St Andrews – 75% discount

Stagecoach Manchester – Parklife festival transport

West Yorkshire Bus Alliance – Youth Engagement Programme


Recruitment and Retention

Brighton & Hove Buses and Metrobus – Driver recruitment

Go North East – YOU are not a bus driver

National Express West Midlands – Driver simulator

Nottingham City Transport – Recruit Retain

Reading Buses – Supporting refugees

Stagecoach East Midlands – Driver recruitment


Top City Operator sponsored by INIT

Brighton & Hove Buses

Lothian Buses

Nottingham City Transport



Top Express Service

AIR – Scottish Citylink

Clyde Flyer 901/906 – McGill’s Bus Group

Manchester-Newcastle – FlixBus

X6 Leicester-Coventry – Arriva East and South Midlands


Top Independent Operator

Grant Palmer

Sanders Coaches



Top National Bus Depot sponsored by Volvo

Chester, Stagecoach Merseyside and South Lancashire MT

Middleton, Stagecoach Manchester MT

Milewater Service Centre, Translink

Milton Keynes, Arriva East and South Midlands

Northampton, Stagecoach Midlands

Porth, Stagecoach South Wales


Top National Bus Driver: The Chris Moyes Memorial Award sponsored by Personal Group

Ben Anderton, Diamond Bus North West

Brian Brotherston, Belfast Metro

Freddie Dempsey, Trentbarton

Clive Egan, Morebus

Tika Gurung, Nottingham City Transport

Mariusz Losinski, Transdev Blazefield


Top Shire Operator sponsored by Ticketer

Go South Coast

McGill’s Bus Group

Preston Bus

Reading Buses

Stagecoach in South Lancashire

Stagecoach Midlands


Unsung Hero sponsored by Backhouse Jones

Andy Allen, Arriva East and South Midlands

Robert and Mandy Bilham, Stagecoach Yorkshire

Gavin Brackett, RATP Dev Transit London

Karen Morrison, Abellio London Bus

Nick Painter, Stagecoach Manchester

Lee Peters, Go South Coast (Damory)

Alison Wood, Stagecoach South Wales


Young Manager of the Year

Christopher Beattie, McGill’s Bus Group

Dan Graham, Go North East

Richard Greaves, Stagecoach Manchester

Amber Olney, Stagecoach East

Reece Stannard, Stagecoach London

Lauren Watson, Stagecoach Merseyside and South Lancashire

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer, these are in place to ensure that you receive the best possible experience when using the Bus & Coach Buyer website.